Daddy, what did YOU do in the Great War?

I caught this, “Recording the Living History of WWI Veterans“, on NPR earlier today. I think it is about 8 minutes long. Listen if you get a chance, it is amazing to hear the voices of WWI vets that are still alive today!

great_war.gif

I found this WWI propaganda poster at firstworldwar.com. The Bible tells us that there is another Great War occurring which is of the greatest significance. I want to encourage every Christian to read Holiness by J.C. Ryle. You can download it from CCEL for free. I hope these quotes from chapter four “The Fight” peak your interest.

But there is another warfare of far greater importance than any war that was ever waged by man. It is a warfare which concerns not two or three nations only, but every Christian man and woman born into the world. The warfare I speak of is the spiritual warfare. It is the fight which everyone who would be saved must fight about his soul.

This warfare, I am aware, is a thing of which many know nothing. Talk to them about it, and they are ready to set you down as a madman, an enthusiast or a fool. And yet it is as real and true as any war the world has ever seen. It has its hand–to–hand conflicts and its wounds. It has its watchings and fatigues. It has its sieges and assaults. It has its victories and its defeats. Above all, it has consequences which are awful, tremendous and most peculiar. In earthly arfare the consequences to nations are often temporary and remediable. In the spiritual warfare it is very different. Of that warfare, the consequences, when the fight is over, are unchangeable and eternal.

The principal fight of the Christian is with the world, the flesh and the devil. These are his never–dying foes. These are the three chief enemies against whom he must wage war. Unless he gets the victory over these three, all other victories are useless and vain.

As a father I am also obligated to teach my children about this war. I must admit that I struggle with complacency at times and neglect my duty. However, it is frequently on my mind, and I am going to post a small image of that poster on my refrigerator so that I am continually reminded of that duty. If you are a father and you are looking for a way to begin this fulfilling your duty I encourage you to listen to this conference. The messages by Rich Lambert are especially helpful.

3 Responses to Daddy, what did YOU do in the Great War?

  1. Wiliam says:

    I think you’re making a very good point there

  2. Huan says:

    haha great! I must show that to my friend :D

  3. Anna says:

    ha! that’s quite unexpected :P

Leave a Reply

