Honoring the Biblical Call of Motherhood

This sermon byJohn Piper is a great encouragement to mothers. You can read it or download the audio. If you don’t have the time to get the whole thing, skip down about half way and read the section titled “A Tribute to Ruth Piper”. This got me laughing.

Fifth, she took right and wrong very seriously and held me
accountable to the highest standards so that I knew in all the conflict
I mattered a lot to my mother. I wrote:

And I seldom felt worse than when mama cried:
I got a speedin’ ticket one night
and mama wept like I’d shot somebody.
All the way to the station at midnight she cried
and made me pay it off right then and there.
One thing was for sure:
I mattered a lot to mama.

Leave a Reply

