Create your own directors commentary for a film.

Here is a project I have been meaning to blog about for a while. Nothing I plan on doing but something I see value in and something I am sure will eventually occur. Last month my wife and I attended the 2007 San Antonio Independent Christian Film Festival (SAICFF) (read more about our trip here). One discussion by Geoff Botkin on how to evaluate a Hollywood movie was very well received. He walked the audience through a number of scenes in a popular movie and pointed out the good and the bad. He analyzed the movie both historically and theologically. The whole point of this was to encourage parents to do the same thing when they or their children watch a movie. In order to do this well there is an fair amount of research that would potentially be involved.

While I was listening to this I recalled some software that is currently being developed that will allow you to download a custom commentary for any movie or television show and then listen to it while you watch. The software is pretty impressive. What this means is someone who is interested in a particular film could easily do the research, interview experts, read the original source material etc…and then create a top notch commentary and make it available to discerning parents like me. This is something I would certainly pay a few dollars for. Historical films would be the genre I would personally be most interested in.

OK, someone with more time than me, get to work!

One Response to Create your own directors commentary for a film.

  1. Richard says:

    Hi,

    I just saw your post and was excited that you’d stumbled upon us. Thanks for the mention. We just opened to the public last month and are definitely in the earliest stages of growth, but we love to get feedback so definitely check us out.

    I love to hear that you’d “pay a few dollars” for our service, but we are and will remain free for the foreseeable future. If you, or someone you know would like to get started creating Overcast content, send me mail and I’m happy to help.

    – Rich

Leave a Reply

