Constant drumbeat of bad news.

Kay comments on a Rod Dreher’s post here ‘Volcker: We’re melting down‘. Kay’s sentiment very much characterizes my own.

I don’t know about other folks, but this constant drumbeat of bad news is provoking two reactions on my part–one is a kind of paralysis in that I know I need to be DOING SOMETHING, but I can’t seem to bring myself to act–and the other is a kind of denial, thinking that somehow we’ll snap out of this. We are doing a bit of food stockpiling, are planning our garden for the spring, and we have become proud “clingers” to protect ourselves, and we’ve even starting getting a bit of gold. But still, we laugh at ourselves every time we take a preparatory step–and I think that internal laughter/disbelief is keeping us from preparing as well as we should.

Leave a Reply

