In praise of Catholics.

Amen.

The Catholics say they will shut down their hospitals if Obama forces them to perform abortions.

7 Responses to In praise of Catholics.

  1. Joshua says:

    They’d rather let their patients suffer and die rather than make embryos (not suffer) and die? That makes no sense to me.

  2. Ethan says:

    The principle is that they will not be forced by the state to take innocent human life, no matter what the cost. It is that important to them.

    What about you Joshua, are you for or against forcing Catholic hospitals to provide abortions? Would you vote for it if given the choice?

  3. Joshua says:

    The principle is that they will not be forced by the state to take innocent human life, no matter what the cost.

    But the cost they are proposing is to see more innocent human lives be ended. It makes as much sense as going on a hunger strike to protest a food shortage.

    What about you Joshua, are you for or against forcing Catholic hospitals to provide abortions?

    Against. I’m for abortions being provided via federal funding, but I support a doctor or facility choosing not to provide the service.

  4. Ethan says:

    The argument you are making is pragmatic/utilitarian. I don’t know what your views are on man and God, mine are derived from the Bible. Your end might be to save as many lives as possible. If that entails executing the elderly or handicapped in their sleep because they are a financial drain on the system, then so be it, it is consistent with your ends. My end on the other hand is to glorify the being that created me. He says don’t murder, so I don’t. I hope you can see that both of our views are likely the consistent outworking of our view of man and God. I am glad to see that you seem to admit that abortion ends a human life, what we disagree about here is the term “cost”. Costs can be calculated. In your view each life has some fixed value, perhaps you think some lives have more or less value. Perhaps there is some equation you have worked out.

    1 life * (if size < 5 months then 1 else 1) * (if young and happy, 10 else 1)…

    However, my view is that every mans life is of infinite worth because we are the image bearers of God.

    1 life * infinite worth

    Now what your saying here is that my “math” is wrong and yours is right. Your cost has been calculated in a way that makes “sense” and mine has not. My argument here is that both our views make perfect sense and I hope you can see that.

  5. Ethan says:

    One more thing, I took a brief glance at your site. Being that you are an atheist surely you see that you have no real basis for coming up with a cost in the first place. How would you ever justify your equation for cost assuming you could come up with one as being right or true? You are expressing your preferences, your likes/dislikes. If I could restate your first comment perhaps it should just read.

    “They’d rather have their preferences rather than my preferences. That makes no sense to me. I would prefer they prefer my preferences.”

  6. Joshua says:

    He says don’t murder, so I don’t.

    So, if you had to kill one innocent person to prevent every other person on the planet from death, you’d not do it?

    Being that you are an atheist surely you see that you have no real basis for coming up with a cost in the first place.

    Are you implying that a human life has no value unless there is a great and powerful being in the sky decreeing it has value? My life is intrinsically valuable because I value it, and other people’s lives are valuable too if they value their own lives. If you want to know how valuable somebody’s life is, you’d have to work out how much the value it. As embryos/foetuses, and even infants, can’t value their own life (because they can’t yet comprehend that they have a life), their life is valuable only as they are valued by others (such as their parents).

  7. Ethan says:

    No I would not kill one person even if the whole planet was at stake, but I would be willing to sacrifice myself, now how is that?

    Instead of you an me reinventing the theist/atheist wheel here google “greg bahnsen the great debate”, “doug wilson christopher hitchens” and “irrational atheist”. We are not covering any new ground here.

    OK, been fun. Repent and believe, he will forgive your sins and when he returns instead of running for a cave you get a glorified body, that ought to interest you!

    Nice meeting you Joshua.

Leave a Reply

