Voddie Baucham’s New Book

Voddie has a new book shipping next week. The title is “What He Must Be…if he wants to marry my daughter“.

whathemustbe

I love the title because you immediately understand in no uncertain terms that Voddie believes he has the authority to reject a suitor. You can bet if Voddie believes it, he gets it from the Bible. His exegesis will be compelling, I am looking forward reading it.

This brings me to a thought I had last week. It is still common in Christian circles for a suitor to seek the approval of a woman’s Father before asking for her hand in marriage.  However, most of the time this is just a tip of the hat to an outdated custom. Most couples don’t actually believe that the father has any real authority to reject a suitor, and if he did they would think him to be a bygone barbarian. They are nice enough to carry on the tradition however. My guess is that this custom is now more about seeking the father’s finances for the wedding rather than seeking the father’s approval of the suitor.

If you agree that a father has any real authority whatsoever  you will need to ask yourself some questions.

  • How much authority do I have?
  • What can I do with my authority?
  • What is the purpose of my authority?
  • When does it begin and end?
  • Are my answers in accordance with God’s Word?

Here is my point. Any Father who thinks a man ought to ask permission to marry his daughter believes he has some measure of authority no matter how small. If this man works through the questions above he will logically come to the conclusion that courtship is the most appropriate method of exercising that authority.

Ann

One Response to Voddie Baucham’s New Book

  1. Matthew says:

    I think a man should ask the father if he can start courting the fathers daughter.
    For the fathers role is to protect his family.

Leave a Reply

